Home grown hops 2021

If you have a hop related question about International Bittering Units or alpha acid, post it here!
Storm Brewing
Steady Drinker

Home grown hops 2021

Post by Storm Brewing » Sun Aug 29, 2021 2:10 pm

Hi All,

I am a newbie to the art of growing hops and expect to be harversting soon. I have two bines, a Fuggles and a Notts Eastwell. They are against a 10 foot south facing wall at the moment so the bines have reached the top and cascaded down 2-3 feet.

I have some elementary questions if someone is able to advise? :roll:

1. When can i expect to harvest this year ( i live in Bedfordshire 10 miles north of Luton - i understand latitude is a significant factor??)
2. I understand the principles of drying the hops for storage but if you use the hops straight away can you use them fresh without drying?

I would attach a photo but not quite worked out to use the 'insert image' function. :oops:

Many thanks

Pete

barneey
Telling imaginary friend stories

Re: Home grown hops 2021

Post by barneey » Sun Aug 29, 2021 8:05 pm

You are really looking for the yellow lupulin in the hop + stickyness, the hops cones themselves might also have a very slight brown tinge to them.

Pick yourself several hops cones open them up with your fingers look for the lupulin and when crushed are your fingers sticky / does it smell like a pint of bitter?

Either dry or use straight away, if using green use at least 5 or 6 times the amount of dried hops. Again if drying wait until the dry weight is at least a 1/5 of the wet weight picked. Vac Pac them and put in the freezer. Have a look at this years AA for similar UK commercial grown hops to guess the AA.

Also worth noting if you are growing something like Cascade in the UK it has IMHO a different flavour to that grown in the US.
Hair of the dog, bacon, butty.
Hops, cider pips & hello.

Name the Movie + song :)

Meatymc
Drunk as a Skunk

Post by Meatymc » Sun Aug 29, 2021 9:30 pm

Hi Pete