thin tasting beer from Keg

Get advice on making beer from raw ingredients (malt, hops, water and yeast)
soneil8
Steady Drinker

thin tasting beer from Keg

Post by soneil8 » Tue Jan 28, 2014 10:53 pm

Hi Guys - I need help...... please!

I have been brewing quite a bit lately, and brew double batches (2*23litres) in one go. This means I can fill my 25litre sankey kegs and have some left for bottling.

However, the beer from the keg tastes thin, but the stuff from the bottle, once it has conditioned, tastes full bodies and really really good. I must say that there is still hop aromas and good bittering from the keg, but there just seems to be alack of body (maltiness almost).

Can anyone help me here? Am i doing somethign really stupid with my kegs?

Any help will be awesome,

Simon

mozza
Under the Table

Re: thin tasting beer from Keg

Post by mozza » Tue Jan 28, 2014 11:32 pm

Do you force carbonate the kegs? Could just require tweaking the level of carbonation. I'm new to using a sankey keg though so just speculating :lol:
Cheers and gone,

Mozza

soneil8
Steady Drinker

Post by soneil8 » Tue Jan 28, 2014 11:36 pm

I generally carbonate to 15psi or maybe 20psi then leave it to sit. They have been in the garage, which is pretty cold at this time of year. If it drops too much (as it carbonates) I'll top it up. The latest brew hasbeen there for approx 3-4 weeks in the keg, so don't assume it will improve much now??????

Martin G

Post by Martin G » Wed Jan 29, 2014 11:23 am

What temps are you serving each at? Colder will reduce some of the flavour.

a-slayer
Hollow Legs

Post by a-slayer » Wed Jan 29, 2014 12:47 pm

I always found my beer was much better from bottles then kegs, hence I now bottle all my beer into old quart bottles, so it doesn't take too long to bottle 80 pints. I find it is usually ready to drink in about a week.

soneil8
Steady Drinker

Post by soneil8 » Wed Jan 29, 2014 2:22 pm