Critique my process please

Make grain beers with the absolute minimum of equipment. Discuss here.
Meatymc
Drunk as a Skunk

Critique my process please

Post by Meatymc » Wed Nov 01, 2017 12:21 pm

I'm just getting into water treatment at the moment so thought this was the opportune moment to ask for comment on my current process to see how that can be improved. Seems little point in playing around with 'chemicals' if the process is crap to start with.

Be brutal please - I'm trying to get as best as I can with what I've got.

I brew in the garage which has no water supply (have to cart from the house). The only dedicated kit I have is a 33L pan and a gas burner/stand hence use propane to heat - my process has really been determined by these restrictions.

I mash with c20L of water (depending on the grain bill) at c67 degrees and for between 60 and 90 minutes (both depending on the recipe).

With 15 minutes to go, I heat up around 12L of water to c70 degrees to sparge - starting in the house in my 'ham boiler' and transferring to a small camping stove in the garage to keep it hot enough.

At 'mash-out' I fire up the pan and lift the grain onto a large (Ikea) colander to drain back into the pan for 5 minutes.

I than transfer the grain into a plastic bin and pour the sparge water over. I gently stir for 5 minutes then drain the bag again and pour the resulting liquid into the pan to bring to the boil.

Not exactly scientific so comments please.

aamcle
Drunk as a Skunk

Re: Critique my process please

Post by aamcle » Wed Nov 01, 2017 1:00 pm

Your doing more work than you need to.

Mash in a a biab bag with a stand under it to keep it from getting burnt.
Lift it out and dunk into a bucket containing your sparge water and mix.
The sparge water does NOT NEED to be hot which saves a bit of messing about, lift the grain bag back out of the bucket and add the sparge back to your boiler.