Does rape honey make good mead?

For those making mead and related drinks
Jambo
Hollow Legs

Does rape honey make good mead?

Post by Jambo » Fri Nov 24, 2017 11:12 pm

Evening all

I'm wondering if rape honey makes decent mead?

The honey is bland at best, when it does have a flavour it isn't always pleasant...

I'm going to try to get my bees onto a field of it next year, so all being well I'll have some :)

Jambo
Hollow Legs

Re: Does rape honey make good mead?

Post by Jambo » Sat Nov 25, 2017 10:32 am

For clarity - like other honey it is basically sugar so I know it will ferment very happily. I'm asking about flavour.

As we have discussed on another thread heather is strong and takes a while to mature, so maybe mixing in some rape would be beneficial?

Carnot
Piss Artist

Post by Carnot » Sun Nov 26, 2017 9:06 pm

I am not sure if you well get any opinions on this one. For my part I am relatively new to Mead and have brewed 14 x 20+ ltr batches over the past year, of which the older batches are just now getting drinkable.

As bee farmers we have a lot of cappings which I use for my mead and this takes around 7.5 kg per batch, as honey. We do not segregate the cappings so they tend to be a mix but rape occurs early in the season. The batches in May and June that had a lot of rape were generally more cloudy and took longer to clarify. Usually 2 rackings are the norm but some batches have needed a third. Taste wise it is still early days so I really cannot comment.