St Peter's Winter Ale

Try some of these great recipes out, or share your favourite brew with other forumees!
Fuggled Mind
Hollow Legs

St Peter's Winter Ale

Post by Fuggled Mind » Wed Oct 31, 2012 12:15 am

I'm currently drinking a pint of Saint Peter's Winter Ale and it's really rather moreish. It's not the cheapest beer here in Switzerland but I've been drinking it over the Christmas period for the last three years and wouldn't mind having a go at brewing it.

I was wondering if anyone had a recipe for it. The information on St Peter's is quite limited
A deep ruby red strong ale with an excellent balance of malt sweetness and hop bitterness. A classic example of a ‘winter warmer’; high in alcohol and rich in taste.
Roger Protz goes a little further on Beer-pages.com but still not a great deal of information to help me formulate a recipe.
St Peter's, Winter Ale (England)
This strong, dark ale from St Peter's pours a mahogany brown with a thin, quickly dissipating cream-coloured head. On the nose, chocolate, caramel and toasty malt aromas abound, with a suggestion of mulled wine and plummy fruit sweetness. On the palate this is medium-bodied and surprisingly clean and light, but a whole barrage of burnt toffee, smoke and slightly acrid flavours emerge. There's a liquoricy edge to the beer in a bittersweet finish, with a hint of something herbal adding a nice twist as well as smokiness and a grippy finish.
What I can taste is quite intense chocolate and indeed there is a slightly acrid and bitter finish. There's also a fair bit of sweetness in it. It's described as a ruby-red ale but I think of it as being quite porterish.

Something else which crossed my mind was whether Exmoor's Exmoor Beast tasted similar. This recipe is in Graham Wheeler's BYO and it's the same gravity and also looks quite porterish. I've never tried it but if it's similar, I might give it a go. Has anyone had a chance to try both St Peter's and Exmore Beast?

Any help would be appreciated