Brewmaker Scottish Wee Heavy

Want to experiment with additions and tweaks to beer kits? This is the place to post.
Jackdaw

Brewmaker Scottish Wee Heavy

Post by Jackdaw » Sun Oct 09, 2016 12:22 pm

Hi,
I'm quite new to the hobby & only made three other brews from kits.I bought two Brewmaker Scottish heavy kits from tesco yesterday.My plan is to put both kits into the fermenter along with Both packets of yeast & 1kg of Brewers sugar.Thinking of making thirty pints instead of forty.
I've heard that I should do an ABV test before adding the yeast then I can add extra sugar to alter the ABV.Is that correct?
I don't expect it to turn out like my favourite drink Mcewans Champion ( along with Old Tom) but I would like a bit of a kick to it.Well a lot of one actually lol :lol: I don't have any other ingredients apart from what I've already mentioned.
Any help/advice much appreciated.
Cheers,
Jack ;)

scotsloon
Piss Artist

Re: Brewmaker Scottish Wee Heavy

Post by scotsloon » Sun Oct 09, 2016 1:22 pm

Unless you have already bought the Brewers Sugar I would suggest you use ordinary sugar, most kits require 1Kg per kit and its a hell of a lot cheaper than Brewers Sugar. The supplied yeast will be sufficient for that kit. Brewing short by 10 pints may well be over doing it, I'd start with 30 pints then add a pint at a time checking the SG after every additional pint (and stirring in) until you get to somewhere around 1.075, that should give you a 9.2% brew which is only 0.1% off the Championship, thats estimating that it will finish fermenting around 1.008 which is the case in most kits. You can also add a hop tea to give the beer a different flavour and make it exclusive to yourself.