Just changing brewing method

A forum for those who boldy recirculate where no man has. .... you know the rest
herms bay
Steady Drinker

Just changing brewing method

Post by herms bay » Wed Jul 14, 2021 12:25 am

Hi All
Been brewing for a couple of years with Brewzilla and PID Burco 30l custom kettle for sparging. Lots of beers under pressure and normal. Got to the stage where I have my favourites and want to move to HERMS three pot 70/50/70l system so selling all my kit and starting the build. I have the old trusted insulated mash tun for simple brews but could easily do 24l batches as well as 50l. I figure that I hate cleaning up so much its less washes per litre in my eyes...Well, will be looking for tips soon. I'm an engineer so don't mind the control and build side its just the practicalities of CFC which I don't use at the moment etc.

Jim
Site Admin

Re: Just changing brewing method

Post by Jim » Wed Jul 14, 2021 8:57 am

Welcome to the forum. :)

That's some serious kit your planning to build!
NURSE!! He's out of bed again!

JBK on Facebook
JBK on Twitter

herms bay
Steady Drinker

Post by herms bay » Wed Jul 28, 2021 4:18 pm

I am starting a HERMS build and am using a 70/50/70 litre setup with 5500w elements in the HLT and Brew kettle. I am ok with electrics and control and am just seeing if there is any practical LFE out there that would help my Mech build. For instance; how high to put the element from the floor of brew kettle to aid whirlpool, pickup placement and whirlpool type and placement. wort recirculation methods (pipes or manifolds) etc.etc, just want to learn from everyone else's mistakes.😁
All advice before i drill holes greatly appreciated.
Honestly love, I haven't bought any more brewing gear!

IPA
Under the Table

Post by IPA » Thu Jul 29, 2021 7:20 am

My advice would be to buy a 50 litre Braumeister. That would cut out the hard work and enable you to start brewing sooner. Plus it would take up less space.