Getting Started.

(That's water to the rest of us!) Beer is about 95% water, so if you want to discuss water treatment, filtering etc this is the place to do it!
Rhodesy
Lost in an Alcoholic Haze

Getting Started.

Post by Rhodesy » Wed Jun 03, 2015 9:15 am

Now I have a stable AG set up and can control fermentation temps, harvest yeast etc I am making the foray into water treatment being a complete novice. I had my water sampled which being in Scotland expected it to be soft. I have been reading up here but admit to getting confused at a lot of steps. I understand in alot of cases low Alkalinity is desired which I believe I have?

Anyway, I am aware of water calculators but not sure if this is what I should aim to for certain styles as a base or educate (at least try to) myself to being well versed, I understand it could more likely be a mix of the 2.

One other question I have is what and when to add? I admit to being a tad lazy here but just to understand that 'total liqour' applies to my total volume i.e. if boiling 40L then quote this or my total HLT or MLT volume? Also what additions get added where? Are there any tables kicking about about what gets added where? Below is my water profile, please feel free if anything jumps out.

Sodium as Na, mg/L 4.1
Potassium as K, mg/L 0.5
Magnesium as Mg, mg/L 0.9
Calcium as Ca, mg/L 8.9
Chloride as Cl, mg/L 6.5
Nitrate as NO3, mg/L 0.6
Phosphate as PO4, mg/L 2.3
Sulphate as SO4, mg/L 11.6
Total alkalinity as CaCO3, mg/L 16
pH 5.45
Conductivity, uScm-1 at 20C 70.6
Total residual chlorine as Cl2, mg/L 0.07

Eric
Even further under the Table

Re: Getting Started.

Post by Eric » Wed Jun 03, 2015 11:17 am

That water almost certainly comes from Loch Katrine or Loch Arklet where the rocks are impervious so the water is very little changed from that which falls as rain and will be consistantly so.