How accurate are ph indicator strips?

(That's water to the rest of us!) Beer is about 95% water, so if you want to discuss water treatment, filtering etc this is the place to do it!
Top Cat
Piss Artist

How accurate are ph indicator strips?

Post by Top Cat » Thu Oct 08, 2020 1:03 pm

Hi all.
I’ve been using these things for a few years now, and over the last few brews I am doubting their accuracy.
My last water report claimed an average ph level of 7, sulphate 50ppm chloride 45ppm, measuring with the strips and comparing the colour to the chart it is more like 6.
When mashing, after about 15 minutes a reading is taken, which is normally between 5 and 5.4.
This is with charcoal filtered water. For 25 ltr of beer, I like to add calcium sulphate (10g) and calcium chloride (5g) but add it at sparge time as I’m not sure and don’t want the ph to drop any more below 5 if salts are added to the mash water.
I normally brew pale ales and bitters.
Does anyone have any advice on a decent meter I could purchase if the general opinions are I’m working with duff equipment.

Jocky
Even further under the Table

Re: How accurate are ph indicator strips?

Post by Jocky » Thu Oct 08, 2020 2:42 pm

You don’t need to care about starting water pH. You only need to think about the mash pH initially. Later on you might want to measure pH further through the process too.

I found the narrow range pH strips impractical for brewing. They had a range of colours from brown to yellow, but by the time they’re dipped in brown wort it was quite difficult to tell what they are meant to be with any accuracy.

I use the Voltcraft pH-100 ATC meter, but I bought it when it was less than half the price it’s available for now.
Ingredients: Water, Barley, Hops, Yeast, Seaweed, Blood, Sweat, The swim bladder of a sturgeon, My enemies tears, Scenes of mild peril, An otter's handbag and Riboflavin.

orlando
So far gone I'm on the way back again!